Questo sito utilizza cookie tecnici, analytics e di terze parti.
Proseguendo nella navigazione accetti l'utilizzo dei cookie.

Preferenze cookies

Consiglio di Sicurezza – Meeting sulla situazione in Somalia

Discorso pronunciato dall’Ambasciatore Sebastiano Cardi, Rappresentante Permanente dell’Italia presso le Nazioni Unite, al Meeting in Consiglio di Sicurezza sulla situazione in Somalia —

Mr. President,

Italy welcomes the unanimous adoption of resolution 2372 which re-authorizes the mandate of the African Union Mission in Somalia.

AMISOM has been doing a tremendous job these years. We wish to commend the African Union and the Troops and Police Contributing Countries for their efforts and the high price of human lives they have paid for this cause.

In the last months the Somali Government has achieved much progress, from agreeing on the main principles of the National Security Architecture to the Security Pact for the coordinated development of the Somali Security Forces. The subsequent new framework will require some time to operationalize.

The decision taken by the Council to defer to October 2018 its consideration on the further steps of the mission’s transition process is therefore wise. As the threat posed by Al-Shabaab remains serious, the need to build up the Somali Security Forces in a prompt and effective manner retains all its strategic significance.

At the same time, this resolution sets up the conditions upon which speeding up the shift towards the Somali Security Forces’ primary responsibility in its own security have been set out by this resolution. The agreement to start reconfiguring the mission in favor of police personnel, as security conditions allow, will also prove to be instrumental to that end.

We look forward to further discussing on this and other relevant matters pertaining to Somalia, a country we will continue to be strongly committed to, during the joint session that the Security Council and the AU Peace and Security Council will hold in Addis Ababa next week.

I thank you, Mr. President.